Rick and Morty Review

I’ll be honest. I never thought I’d watch this show and enjoy it. Backstory: a friend of my boyfriend and I randomly dropped us into one of the episodes for us to watch. It was weird and just so strange. But, seeing it all over Facebook, I gave it another go. And now I’m hooked (and finished both series’ in two days).

rick9pm

Rick and Morty is an animated TV show about a drunk scientist called Rick and his fourteen year old grandson Morty. Obviously a parody of the Back to the Future characters. Rick lives with his daughter’s family and uses their garage as a space for his experiments. You can watch each episode as a standalone but some do continue in subtle ways into later episodes too. It starts off pretty simple with simple storylines and funny little quips that are easy to understand and honestly make the show very easy to watch. You don’t need much brain power to get it.

Then in season two, especially near the end things take a deeper turn and it actually  becomes quite heartfelt and starts to build up more of a story. I won’t give the end of season two away but it was very different to how we understood the show up until that point. Everything else was usually resolved within that episode whereas this left a cliffhanger and makes you want more. It’s clever without losing it’s simpleness.

rick3

I didn’t think I would like this series but then again I was thrusted into it. It’s dumb, very dumb but that’s what makes it good. it’s a show you can just shove on and watch when you don’t want to have to pay too much attention. It’s fun, and it’s weird and that’s what makes it good. I think people discredit this show because, in my experience anyway, the people who watch it are the sort who are quite immature but I think most can enjoy it if you just give it a shot.

I’m interested to see where they go from the end of season two and what happens next. I recommend this show, especially when you have nothing else to watch, just to put on and giggle through. You’ll probably get hooked in no time too.

What do you think of Rick and Morty?

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

